Salon Appointment Scheduler - Build a Salon Appointment Scheduler

Tell us what’s happening:
Hello I can’t get the you should display a list of services test to pass after resetting and I’m also having trouble inserting the name please help

Your code so far
SQL/salon.sh at main · DennisWainaina/SQL (github.com)
Here’s a screenshot of my freecodecamp

Your browser information:

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/109.0.0.0 Safari/537.36 Edg/109.0.1518.55

Challenge: Salon Appointment Scheduler - Build a Salon Appointment Scheduler

Link to the challenge:

Hi !
i’m not an expert ,but i alredy finished this project , my advice ( after looking at your code ) it is way too long and complecated , it took me onle 68 lines of code in the ’ .sh ’ file to finish this project , and to pass the tests it’s better to look at examples.txt file and return the same text , copy and past it with modifying the variables names to match what you have.
walk throgh the tests one by one until you pass then work on the next one .

1 Like

This project is much simpler than the build a bike store project prior.

The test requirements do not require as much checking as you were doing, this could be complicating your logic a little bit.

For example, this bit of code can simply be condense to inserting the time and checking to see if there is a result.

Since time is unique, your database will not allow you to insert at overlapping time.

However, it is very simplified since time is being used as a text and it’s easy to put in. “ 11am” as well as “11:00” and both would be allowed.

But this project is just a simplified version of the bike store project. Try reviewing this code, and see if you can simplify other parts of your solution.

echo -e “\nWhat time would you like your $SERVICE_NAME_TO_SELECT, ‘$CUSTOMER_NAME’”
read SERVICE_TIME
TIME_IN_DATABASE=$($PSQL “SELECT time FROM appointments WHERE time = ‘$SERVICE_TIME’”)