Scientific Computing with Python Projects - Arithmetic Formatter

Tell us what’s happening:
Hello.
I am new to programing and am doing this course. My problem is with the first project. It doesnt look like what I was thought about it in the course prior is enough to pass it. My code is below(I made it only in one python file for now). I can make the Arithmedic Formatter but without it being four spaces between each problem.

Your code so far
problems = [‘32 + 8’,‘33 - 23’,‘485 + 2’, ‘154 + 145’]

for problem in problems:

chunks = problem.split(" ")
    max_len = len(max(chunks,key=len))
    line_len = max_len + 2
    line = '-' * line_len

current_len = len(chunks[0])
    first_num_len = line_len - current_len
    first_num = (" " * first_num_len) + chunks[0]

current_len_2 = len(chunks[2])
    second_num_len = (line_len - current_len_2) - 1
    operation = chunks[1]
    second_num = (operation + " " * second_num_len) + chunks[2]

arranged_problems = (first_num + "\n" + second_num + "\n" + line)

result = None
    first_number_int = int(first_num)
    second_number_int = int(chunks[2])

if operation == "+":
        result = first_number_int + second_number_int
    elif operation == "-":
        result = first_number_int - second_number_int

current_len_3 = len(str(result))
    result_len = line_len - current_len_3
    result_aligned = (" " * result_len) + str(result)

arranged_problems = (first_num + "\n" + second_num + "\n" + line + "\n" + result_aligned)

print(arranged_problems + "\n")

Your browser information:

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux x86_64; rv:109.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/111.0

Challenge: Scientific Computing with Python Projects - Arithmetic Formatter

Link to the challenge:

Welcome to the course :slight_smile:

Yeah, the projects are meant to expand on the coursework, so usually you have to do a bit of research and brainstorming to solve them. But I believe it can be solved just using or expanding on what was shown in the course.