Stuck on Use the .env File Challenge

Tell us what’s happening:
I’m quite stuck on this challenge and can’t tell if I’m missing a step or if there’s a bug that’s stopping me from passing the tests. Bear with me because I’m new at this, but here’s what I’ve tried so far:

• The challenge says to store the variable MESSAGE_STYLE=uppercase in the .env file. I’m using the repl.it terminal to write the code and there is no .env file to be found. I tried creating one and added:
    VAR_NAME=MESSAGE_STYLE;
    MESSAGE_STYLE=uppercase;

There aren’t any instructions on how exactly to store the environment variable so my first question is how do I do that.

• Next, I tried using the following to tell the GET /json route handler to transform the response object’s message to uppercase if process.env.MESSAGE_STYLE equals uppercase:

if (process.env.VAR_NAME === “MESSAGE_STYLE”) {
response = “Hello json”.toUpperCase();
} else {
response = “Hello json”;
}

If someone could walk me through this challenge I’d really appreciate it.

Your code so far

Your browser information:

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_15_7) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/86.0.4240.111 Safari/537.36.

Challenge: Use the .env File

Link to the challenge:

Welcome, nbradman.

The boilerplate should not contain a .env file. So, it is expected that you create one.

.env files work as line-deliminated text. So, a ; (semi-colon) at the end is included in the value. To answer your first question, you have done most of that part correctly.

You have written two very different things here. The sentence is correct, the code does not reflect it.

I cannot tell exactly, without seeing your full code, but it looks like you are not responding correctly either. So, just to clarify:

// Setup route attached to app
app.route('/json').get((request, response) => {
  // Set the message you want to send
  const myResponseVariable = ...;

// Respond with the data: