Sum of digits - help

In this kata, you must create a digital root function.

A digital root is the recursive sum of all the digits in a number. Given n , take the sum of the digits of n . If that value has more than one digit, continue reducing in this way until a single-digit number is produced. This is only applicable to the natural numbers.

Here’s how it works:

digital_root(16)
=> 1 + 6
=> 7

digital_root(942)
=> 9 + 4 + 2
=> 15 ...
=> 1 + 5
=> 6

digital_root(132189)
=> 1 + 3 + 2 + 1 + 8 + 9
=> 24 ...
=> 2 + 4
=> 6

digital_root(493193)
=> 4 + 9 + 3 + 1 + 9 + 3
=> 29 ...
=> 2 + 9
=> 11 ...
=> 1 + 1
=> 2

Hi, hope you’re well. I am new to coding and would like help on this challenge:

At the moment i want to separate the strings but i get this error: Cannot read property ‘length’ of undefined. I think snumber=digital_root() is incorrect but i am not sure how to fix it. Code is below:

var  

output = [],
    sNumber = digital_root().toString();

function digital_root(n) {

for (var i = 0, len = sNumber.length; i < len; i += 1) {
    output.push(+sNumber.charAt(i));
}

}

console.log(digital_root(50));
  1. is [https://repl.it] a good console for learning? or anything better? thanks so much

Not sure why you have code outside the function at the top. The sNumber = code will call digital_root with undefined for n and then return undefined and set sNumber to undefined.
In general you want to have all the code inside your function, unless there is some specific request / need for global data.

var  

output = [],
    sNumber = n.toString("");

for (var i = 0, len = sNumber.length; i < len; i += 1) {
    output.push(+sNumber.charAt(i));
}

}

console.log(digital_root(50));

Thanks, yes. That makes sense now. Now i get this error:
RangeError: toString() radix argument must be between 2 and 36

Hello @silvercut,

You have several mistakes here. I will try to explain.