Text color is not changing when hovering over it ... please help

hi all

I came back to my first freecodecamp challenge to do some changes but i am facing a weird problem.

What is wrong with my last line with element p and a…

The last line doesnt show on jsfiddle and the text color doesnt change when i hover over it, only the background color changes.

I am wondering what mistake is there because on my other webpages it works just fine.

below is the link

Edit fiddle - JSFiddle - Code Playground

1 Like

Hi @Hisoka,

Your 'tribute-link ’ id selector is the problem by looks of it. I have changed it to a:link and it seems to work.

I am a newbie, so I might not explain it correctly and someone might come along to correct me, however the way how I understand it is that ids have the highest priority. By giving ‘tribute-link’ an id selector, CSS will ignore the a:hover instruction for colour because it has lower priority. By removing higher priority selector and replacing it with a:link, CSS will change the colour of your text on hover because it is no longer overwritten by the first selector.

I hope this helps :slight_smile:

2 Likes

^Correct. That or the other way. Increase the specificity of the hover selector.

I will say unless the link style is supposed to be global for all links I would not suggest using an element selector and would use a class instead. I don’t suggest using ids for styling, they have too high specificity which can cause issues in the long run (for larger projects at least).

a {
  /* global for all links */
  text-decoration: none;
}

.tribute-link {
  color: green;
}

.tribute-link:hover {
  color: blue;
  background: green;
}
2 Likes

Why i cant see the last line in jsfiddle.net

@lasjorg @trix19
thanks. i guess that the only solution. the reason id is there because of the requirement of the challenge. I thought that would be the reason. I wonder if there is a way to ovewrite the priority of Id if i want the hover to work