The ageism question

Hello everyone! Long time subscriber. First time caller.

I’m needing a career change at 41. I’ve been a paramedic for almost 20 years. My physical and mental health are needing relief. I love the job, make decent money, and am higher up in the food chain these days… but the stress is really getting to me.

I’ve been coding and playing with computer science for several years. I’m working on some apps currently and love learning new concepts and ideas.

My question is, “is it too late to change careers?”

I’m contemplating earning a second bachelors degree in computer science. My hopes are that with a degree (hopefully the accelerated WGU program) and a portfolio would increase my chances in gaining employment.

What are your thoughts or advice? What concentration should I check out?

Thank you!

Over the years, there have been a lot of good discussions on this forum with people from 24 to 60 asking “am I too old?”. I do think it’s worth looking through those responses.

A few highlights:

• Programming is one of the fields where a career change later in life is more common.
  • Yes, agism exists, as does racism, sexism, and ablism (to name a few). It’s not something we like to acknowledge, but it’s there.
  • It can also be surprisingly stressful and alienating to be mentored and managed by people half your age. You might feel isolated, even if your team is doing their best to make you welcome.