The ID element for Radio Buttons

I am studying how to code for radio buttons at https://learn.freecodecamp.org/responsive-web-design/basic-html-and-html5/create-a-set-of-radio-buttons/

This is what the tutorial says about ID elements (for use in conjunction with radio buttons):

It is considered best practice to set a for attribute on the label element, with a value that matches the value of the id attribute of the input element. This allows assistive technologies to create a linked relationship between the label and the child input element. For example:

**    <label for="indoor">**
**      <input id="indoor" type="radio" name="indoor-outdoor">Indoor**
**    </label>**

Here are my questions:

(1) What are the “assistive technologies” that have been alluded to?

(2) If I am trying to code radio buttons with the intent of having the user chose between one of two options, does it matter whether both buttons share the same ID value?

For example:

<label for="indoor-outdoor">
  Indoor
  <input id="indoor-outdoor" type="radio" name="indoor-outdoor">
</label>

<label for="indoor-outdoor">
    Outdoor
  <input id="indoor-outdoor" type="radio" name="indoor-outdoor">
</label>

</form>

This code produces two radio buttons, and only one of them can be selected. But so does this code:

<label for="indoor">
  Indoor
  <input id="indoor" type="radio" name="indoor-outdoor">
</label>

<label for="outdoor">
    Outdoor
  <input id="outdoor" type="radio" name="indoor-outdoor">
</label>

</form>
</main>

</form>

What you’ll notice between the two sets of code is that in the first instance, both radio buttons have the same ID values, whereas in the second instance, they have differing ID values. But as far as the output is concerned, I can’t see any difference.

2 Likes

Nope, ID’s should not be repeated not only on radio buttons, but for any elements.

This produces one radio button, the use of ID here is to call the label using for, both ID and for should match