Thinkful boot camp - will completing the camp land me an entry level job?

Hi Guys,

I hope everyone is doing good. I have some open-ended questions. Will completing this boot camp and utilizing the services they offer be enough to get me in the door? I have been programming for about two years in C# and have a basic understanding of OOP programming concepts. I have no ‘real-world’ experience, but I am also not starting from scratch.

To that end, where should I focus to get that first web development job? What I am asking is, if you were starting out in my shoes, what would be your first move? I read some of the conversations here, and I realize remote work is out of the question, but I’d like to know if Thinkful was a good move on my part before I commit fully. Thank you for your time and have a good one.

HI @bigmike2238 !

Welcome to the forum!

I personally think, at the end of the day, courses can help you get there but it really depends on your effort to make your work stand out that will seal the deal.

I looked up this bootcamp and it seems legit and I didn’t see any immediate red flags. But I would continue to do a deep dive research into reviews just to make sure this camp will be worth it.

There are tons of great articles, videos, podcasts that will walk you through the process of what to learn and how to get hired on what to do and what not to do. I would do some serious research and just start learning.
FCC teaches the MERN stack and python. So you can start learning now until you decide what you want to do with this bootcamp.

Also, you are going to need to build some projects. Start with smaller projects like to do list and calculators and then start to build more complex things. For your portfolio, you will want to showcase something more than just class projects because hiring managers have seen them to many times before.