Trouble understand 'While True'

i was looking throught the PySimpleGUI docs and i saw something i have seen a few times bfore in other Python code.

The ‘while true’. This makes sense to me in most contexts where there is a pre-defined ‘break’. But this is what was defined in the docs

while True:                             # The Event Loop
    event, values = window.read() 
    print(event, values)       
    if event == sg.WIN_CLOSED or event == 'Exit':
        break

to me, this means that the event loop will run until the program is closed. In javascript, something like this would freeze my computer (i think?, im just a beginner). Wondering if the python event loop uses less resources or something that makes it easier to run indefinitely.

or i may just be misunderstanding it completely

Generally, I consider while True to be an anti-pattern. You will see it sometimes in special cases though

I think of this as a way to implement an “until” type-loop. For example, you might have a function where you want to divide the input by 2 until it is less than 10. Here you could write

while True:
     input=input/2
     if input < 10:
        break 

So, you can create loop that will run until some conditions are satisfied. I am fairly new to python, so I’m not sure if this is the “correct” way to think about it, but it’s what makes sense to me.

I think in this case it is better like this

while input >= 10:
    input /= 2
1 Like

Based on the short snippet, I’m not sure what other code may be running, but if event == sg.WIN_CLOSED or event == exit may not mean the whole program is closing; it may mean that something like one window in the program is closing. So the while loop may run while a particular window is open and exit once the window is close. But since the program may have many windows, exiting that window does not necessarily mean the program is closed.

One could say everything in programming is a special case. Anti-pattern is a bit far IMO.