Unable to access API key using process.env and Heroku

Greetings. My problem is somewhat complicated and I’m not sure where to start. I am a frontend developer with very little backend knowledge and I am trying to make a simple API call to an API that requires a key. I have the key, and I have stored it in a .env file as MY_API_KEY=[insert key here]. I’m trying to send it as part of the request header from the front end on a button click using process.env.MY_API_KEY. Furthermore, my server is hosted on Heroku using a clone of CORS-Anywhere so that I can get past the CORS error. I have logged into Heroku and added the API key in config vars, and it still doesn’t work. Every time I attempt the GET request, it says “You are not subscribed to this API” and process.env.MY_API_KEY logs as undefined to the console.

I don’t really understand why it’s not working or how I should untangle this. I have tried building my own server and not using heroku but that doesn’t seem to work either as I don’t seem to understand how to connect the front and back end successfully. Any help would be appreciated.

Edit: FYI I am using HTML, CSS, Vanilla JS and I have node installed. I am using dotenv 10.0.0 in my package.json in devDependencies. Here’s a simple snippet of my front-end API call code for reference:

const getData = async () => {
    fetch('https://my-heroku-server-app-name.herokuapp.com/https://wft-geo-db.p.rapidapi.com/v1/locale/timezones/America__Los_Angeles/dateTime', {
	method: 'GET',
	headers: {
		'x-rapidapi-host': 'host-name-entered-here',
		'x-rapidapi-key': process.env.MY_API_KEY
	}
})
.then(res => res.json()
).then(data => console.log(data))
.catch(err => {
    console.log('ERROR FROM GETDATA:');
	console.error(err);
});
}

getData() is triggered on a button click. This above code is in a frontend js file.

Is your backend making a request to the API?