Understanding 'null'

I’m new to OOP. Having just read the excellent ‘a-quick-and-thorough-guide-to-null-what-it-is-and-how-you-should-use-it’ by Christian Neumanns, I’m still confused as the article doesn’t explain the reason for allowing a variable to have a null value at all.
This is what I was searching for, because I don’t see any point to declaring a variable that has no value. Maybe I’m dim or something but I just don’t get it. If a container is created to hold values then it must have a value simply because it’s been created, otherwise it’s not serving its function and thus there is no point having created the thing, whether it’s a reference or value type seems to me irrelevant.
Can someone put me straight on this with an explanation as to why it’s considered a good idea to allow null values. Seems pointless to me.

1 Like

Have you ever used an empty box? Think about it, if every box you ever saw was full, how would you then use it?

Null has many purposes.
Here is one example showing it being used

Edit: I just noticed you posted this in python sub forum. Sorry should have given you a python example of using None. Basically though, imagine that you are reading a record in a database table somewhere. Some columns may be required and some may be empty because they were optional fields. To indicate that something is empty a value like None (null) would be very useful. Or if you are implementing an API which is supposed to return some object only in some scenarios, when you want to communicate that the object could not be found/created then doing that with None is handy too. As you write more code, you will see it used more.

1 Like

Here’s the article in question for some context:

I quickly skimmed the article but noticed a few things that stand out that might help shed light on your question.