Updating State of React Component

I’m new to learning React. I have a class ListItem that extends the React.Component class.
I’m curious why there’s a difference in console outputs and what would be best practice between using this.setState({ stateItem : newValue }) and just assigning the state directly with this.state.stateItem = newValue.

Here’s my example (I’ve tried to just limit the code to the area of the component in question).
In both scenarios, the component has an initial state.

constructor(props) {
     super(props);                
     this.state = {
         itemStatus : false
     }
 }
 render() {
                return (
                    <li>
                        <input type='checkbox' id="item-1" name="item-1" onClick=
{this.toggleItemStatus.bind(this)} />
                        <label htmlFor="item-1">{this.props.title}</label>
                    </li>
                );
            }

Then comes the part in Question

toggleItemStatus() {
                console.log(this.state.itemStatus);  //Outputs false 
                this.state.itemStatus = !(this.state.itemStatus);
                console.log(this.state.itemStatus); //Outputs true
            }

Versus the other approach

toggleItemStatus() {
                console.log(this.state.itemStatus);  //Outputs false 
                this.setState({
                    itemStatus : !(this.state.itemStatus)
                });
                console.log(this.state.itemStatus); //Outputs false
            }
1 Like

Awesome job working on learning React.

The React docs recommend against setting state directly.

state is a reference to the component state at the time the change is being applied. It should not be directly mutated.

from https://reactjs.org/docs/react-component.html#setstate

It’s helpful more and more for me to read through docs when trying to learn something new.

Again, really awesome that you’re getting out of your comfort zone and learning something new

1 Like