}
  #ball2 {
    transform:scale(2);
    }

</style>

<div class="ball" id= "ball1"></div>
<div class="ball" id= "ball2"></div>

Your browser information:

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_13_4) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/66.0.3359.181 Safari/537.36.

Link to the challenge:
https://learn.freecodecamp.org/responsive-web-design/applied-visual-design/use-the-css-transform-scale-property-to-change-the-size-of-an-element

What do you mean by “nothing works”? If I run this code, ball2 does appear larger than ball1. Could you give some extra detail about what the code does for you vs. what you expected to it to do?

sorry, I’m new to this but I know I have to change the size value of that selector to 1.5 times it’s size, so I was messing around with the values, I even entered 2 values with a comma in between, what I mean is no value I enter seems to work, what am I missing? a calculation? some brain cells? I know the syntax is correct for the browser, this seems like it would be so simple. and to answer your question, when I enter different single values one circle elongates on either the Y or X axis, don’t know which.

1 Like

Heh, I doubt you’re missing any brain cells.

Sorry, I didn’t read the challenge before my first response. After looking at it, I think the problem is just that you’re using ‘transform: scale(2)’ but the challenge asks you to “Increase the size of the element with the id of ball2 to 1.5 times its original size.” The code you’ve posted increases the size of ball2 to 2 times its original size, rather than 1.5.

Looks like the instructions say to make it 1.5 not 2 like in the example?

this may be the most retarded question of the century but if 1 double is 2 then 1.5 doubled is 3, right?

I believe they mean 1.5 times of whatever its size would be without ANY previous transformations applied.