Weird placement of new elements

I’m currently taking on my first solo project since completing the Responsive Web Design curriculum and I’m running into a problem where the elements I code below my Nav in html are being placed awkwardly next to the left-leaning set of nav links.

I’m stumped as to what is happening and I’d really appreciate some input. Forgive the shoddy formatting. I’m a complete self-taught beginner.

Thanks

https://codepen.io/luis-iii/pen/GRoGvgV

Hello!

That’s because you’re using float, in which case you need something called the clear fix. Basically, when you use float, the parent of the floated elements loses its space on the screen, which leads to unexpected results. It’s like if the parent of the floated elements was displayed as inline.

Add this to the .nav-list:

.nav-list:after {
  display: table;
  content: ' ';
  clear: both;
}

Currently, with the introduction of flex and grid there’s no need to use float anymore, but it’s good to know regardless :stuck_out_tongue:.

I hope it helps,

Stay safe and Happy coding!

1 Like

Appreciate the reply :pray:. How would you use flex instead of float to get the same results I have on my code, currently?

1 Like

Hi @luistaganasiii,
This is a way you could do it:
Copy of your codepen.
Notice I made a few minor changes:

• In the HTML I moved the ‘nav-right’ component to be outside of the ‘nav-list’ component, but still inside the ‘navbar’;
  • I created a flex-container out of the ‘navbar’, so both ‘nav-list’ and ‘nav-right’ became flex-items I could move around using the flexbox properties.
  • I gave the nav-list a ‘margin-right: auto’, so that it would push the ‘nav-right’ to the right as much as possible automatically.
  • I made the ‘nav-list’ a flex-containers as well, so I could easily position all items next to one another without having to use floats.