What photo / graphics editor do you use, if any?

What do you do when you need to crop a photo for your site, or to make a complex svg? What tool do you turn to?

I’m using Photoshop. But there is a good free alternative to Photoshop called Krita. Very similar software.

1 Like

For photo-editing I’m using GIMP (open-source):

This is ok for me but I am not a professional.

For vector-graphics (SVG) there is Incscape (open source):
https://inkscape.org
I played around with it a little bit but I don’t need SVG-editing often. I think it requires some more work to get used to it.
Inscape “internal format” is also SVG.

1 Like

I’m using the Affinity apps…

Photoshop equivalent:

Illustrator Equivalent:

They are not free, but they are exceptionally well priced for their power, even more so if you pick them up during one of their frequent sales. Also worth noting is that they are not subscription based, unlike Adobe’s suite of apps. They are both made by a company called Serif, a well respected creative apps developer, who have been around since the 80’s,

IMO the interface of both Affinity Photo and Designer is far superior to the above mentioned free options (which in itself, makes them worth picking up), and also superior to Ps and Ai as they are less cluttered. Furthermore, there is an abundance of online tutorials on how to use these apps, with whole YouTube channels dedicated solely to their usage. Affinity’s own video tutorials are also excellent and to the point, serving as a video manual for all the features of their apps.

To top off the package, they have an excellent active forum with many helpful members with extraordinary skills, so you are never left wondering how to achieve something or stuck with a problem with nowhere to turn.