When is it appropriate to use .css in jQuery?

So formatting a page, let’s say I decide to have a black background for the body.

I can use CSS and just say

body{
  background-color: black;
}

or I have the option to use jQuery instead:

$(document).ready(function(){
  $("body").css("background-color","black");
});

I know the example is pretty basic, and probably doesn’t cover the purpose of being able to affect CSS in jQuery but I’m left wondering. If they both do exactly the same thing, which should I choose to write it in and why?

I not suggesting I’m an expert by any means but I would presume jquery would be best used when you want to make a style change on an event like a mouse click or something like that. I would love to hear from someone with more experience though.

You change css in js to build effects that is not provided using css alone. For instance, revealing a block and hiding them. Or animating an element based on certain conditions.

1 Like

I agree with @fullpruf and I too only know a little bit of jQuery (I am currently in the Intermediate Front End Development Challenges) but jQuery is usually used for dynamic changes on the page.

I would definitely use CSS for all static design choices. You can even use CSS for some standard dynamic design choices too, like :hover :active , stuff like that.

I dont know if this really helps, sorry if it doesn’t :frowning:

• Nao

As a general principle - only use JavaScript to change CSS when absolutely necessary, usually due to some sort of user interaction with the page (to hide something, show something, move something - stuff like that).

1. It will save you excess, unneeded reflows/repaints in the browser, which keep your page from becoming very, very slow