Why can't I use Arrow syntax to return in this problem?

Tell us what’s happening:
Describe your issue in detail here.
So I just started ES6 courses in freeCodeCamp today and I studied the simplified function, which allows us to return by using Arrow Syntax like this “=>” but it seems to not allow me here. Or is my code wrong? Please help

**Your code so far**
// Only change code below this line
class Thermostat {
constructor(fahrenheit) {
  this._fahrenheit = fahrenheit;
}

get temperature() => 5/9 * (_fahrenheit - 32);
}
// Only change code above this line

const thermos = new Thermostat(76); // Setting in Fahrenheit scale
let temp = thermos.temperature; // 24.44 in Celsius
thermos.temperature = 26;
temp = thermos.temperature; // 26 in Celsius
  **Your browser information:**

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/103.0.0.0 Safari/537.36

Challenge: Use getters and setters to Control Access to an Object

Link to the challenge:

Well an arrow method would be:

temperature = () => 5/9 * (_fahrenheit - 32);

But if I remember correctly, getters and setters can’t be arrow functions. Also, I think _fahrenheit will be undefined, you need to prefix if with something (like you did a few lines before.)

1 Like

Oh I see, thank you so much

Arrow syntax is for defining anonymous functions. So what you’ve written is a direct equivalent to

get temperature function () {
  return 5/9 * (_fahrenheit - 32);
}

Which doesn’t make much sense.

Or as another direct equivalent (a class is used to create objects), defining an object property like this

{
  username "DanCouper"
}

Note the missing colon.

You can define class properties, which are properties that are created every time an object is created via a class definition:

class User {
  username = "DanCouper";
}

console.log(new User()) // { username: "DanCouper" }

That will always be the same value, it gets defined when the object is created.