Why or When to OOP?

I am a retired Systems Analyst. I spent most of my time designing and programming using 4js Genero BDL (a 4GL Language) and an Informix Dynamic Server SQL database. I wrote many smaller programs rather than one large program as it made the process more manageable. Each program had one purpose.
I have been trying to figure out Why or When I would need to use OOP. I have written a few small Python programs that do use classes and methods but I don’t feel that they simpler or gained anything by using methods as opposed to just plain old functions.
So, Why or When I would need to use OOP?

1 Like

Welcome, tolok.

The reason I use one or the other just comes down to whether the data I am representing makes most sense as an object or bits. That is, in the past I have written software to control robots, and, mentally, structuring the program in an OOP style makes the most sense. Other times, I have written software to calculate fibre optical parameters, and, mathematically, functional programming made the most sense.

So, that is what it boils down to, for me; if what I am representing makes more sense as an object, I find it easier to program through OOP principles/styles.

It is kind of like how there is nothing you cannot store in a relational database that you can in a non-relational database, but, sometimes, it is easier to work with one than the other purely in terms of structure.

Hope this helps

3 Likes

It depends of what are you trying to build, design and solve.
Python is an OOP language so everything on it is classes and objects, although you can still use it as a procedural language on the surface.

OOP is one of the more sensible ways to maintain state, especially where’s there’s a lot of localized state. Encapsulation helps to maintain both the local state and invariants that regulate that state. If you don’t have a lot of localized state changing over time, you may get bigger dividends with other methodologies like FP.