Writing tests: type error not a function

Hi,

It is my first time writing tests, using jest. The error says that sortEvents is not a function even though it is:

import React from "react";
import ReactDOM from "react-dom";
import App from "./components/App";
import { sortEvents } from "./components/CalendarChallenge";

it("App renders successfully", () => {
  const div = document.createElement("div");
  ReactDOM.render(<App />, div);
  ReactDOM.unmountComponentAtNode(div);
});

// const { sortEvents } = require("./components/CalendarChallenge");
test("sortEvents", () => {
  let events = sortEvents(1, 5, 2);
  expect(events).toBe(1, 2, 5);
});
 sortEvents = () => {
    return [...this.props.events].sort((a, b) => (a.start > b.start ? 1 : -1));
  };

By any chance does sortEvents look like this:

class CalenderChallenge extends React Component {
  // Some stuff

sortEvents = () => {
    return [...this.props.events].sort((a, b) => (a.start > b.start ? 1 : -1));
  };

// Some stuff
}

Because sortEvents isn’t a function in that case, the error message is correct, it’s a property on an object (CalendarChallenge)

If you’re importing a function called sortEvents, you need to export one called sortEvents from the file.

And if it’s a function, it needs to be a standalone function so that you can actually test it, like

export const sortEvents = (events) => {
    return [...events].sort((a, b) => (a.start > b.start ? 1 : -1));
  };

export default class CalenderChallenge extends React Component {
  // Some stuff

sortEvents() {
    // Use the function in the component
    return sortEvents(this.props.events);
  }

// Some stuff
}

Otherwise it depends on the internal state and structure of the component, so cannot be unit tested.

Thanks! this all sounds right - I’ll try it out.

Sorry I understand the problem, but your solution, I’m not sure about.

Your line 1 ‘export const’ errors with my linter, and why have you got sortEvents() written separately below as well?