10 Years+ coding, yet feel like a beginner!

Hi All,

I’m new to this forum, although I have use freeCodeCamp before for certifications. I thought I would post heer to see if my situation is normal or not.

I have been coding in c# (mainly backend/winforms) for the last 10 years. I am basically providing contract work to another company and work on my own as the sole developer of a bit of software (an ERP system).

You would think with 10 years behind me that I would be pretty confident in my skills. However that couldn’t be further from the truth! Pretty much every other day, I encounter something new, and it leaves me having to ask google how it works or how to implement it. As a programmer, I have always had the notation that using google was normal as the vast amount of libraries and whatnots would be impossible for one mind to remember, but i’m now wondering if this is correct?

Being a sole developer, my code isn’t peer reviewed and I don’t review other people’s code. I am aware that my own code whilst functional, is not great, and this is because everything I am tasked with coding needs to be done as an ‘emergency’ and asap, and nothing is planned properly. I try to follow the SOLID principles, but it is hard in such a development environment. I would say 90% of my code doesn’t follow SOLID, and it definitely doesn’t follow any specific design patterns! This leaves me feeling like I’m not a good programmer. Has anyone else been in this boat?