I do not love programming

Hi Guys.

I am completely new here even though I used many many resources from freeCodeCamp during last few month of learning programming. I just never had the courage to actually post something in here.

I started learning programming probably around 8 months ago. It’s a rocky road with me. My boyfriend who is a programmer, inspired me for career change and after consideration I decided to change my life.

All my life/career decisions until now were led, in a way, by emotions and passion.

Change is hard. I know that there are or were multiple discussions about it here but recently I just feel very lonely in my journey and I just wanted to share my thoughts. I hope that is okay with you all.

I don’t like programming. I don’t have passion for it. But I truly want to do it in life because it would give me some financial freedom and flexibility. I am an introvert that has a decent social skills, with creative mind and a bit romantic nature.

So programming is like a mountain for me. I climb it everyday and everyday feels like it’s not enough. Everyday I want to understand logic behind it and how things actually work. Persistence in here is essential.

But my mind forgets things quickly. I get anxious. And at points depressed.

What was your approach?
Did you like it straight away?
What was most difficult?

Thanks for reading. x

1 Like

Programming is a hard career if you like coding - it’s miserable if you don’t. It’s hours and hours of being frustrated until you get it to work and move on to the next trouble.

3 Likes

HI @izabelaoska !

Welcome to the forum!

Thank you for sharing your story with us :slight_smile:

I think most people feel this way because learning to code has a big learning curve to it.

When I was first learning, I struggled with a lot of things.
Most people do.

8 months is still pretty new.

It will just take time to start to get comfortable with things.