10000 changes in vs code version control

Hello ! I am new to git and vs code and I have noticed that there are around 10000 changes showing. I don’t know whether to commit them all or discard changes.

I am using git and vs code literally right now.

And I am having hard time trying to understand what changes are you referring to.

Could you elaborate more?

yeah , i think this problem is only with vs code when you also use git .
well i cannot share image as im a new user so i will tell you in detail
below file there are search and source control icons in source control there are two types of staged changes and unstaged changes , in staged changes there is one file in which there are git commands i have performed and in unstaged changes there are9999 diffrent files from images to the things i have deleted .

I think maybe you can share which repository you are concerned with?

i dont understand this

If you are working with git, you are working with some repository.

Staged and unstaged changes - it only makes sense in the context of managing repository, I guess.

can you give more details? it’s for example good practice to .gitignore the node_modules folder, to avoid thousands of changes

well yeah i was working in some repos but the thing is even the files that are not the part of that repos are showing , aprt from that thousands of icon images like asterisk , star , etc are also in that unstaged change , now i am sure that i have never used that many icons in git , i have just recently started learning git so maybe some command that i could have run which resulted in this?

what is the node_module folder , and git ignore

it is hard to say exactly, but that could easily be the case.

Consider to read this docs about gitignore:
https://git-scm.com/docs/gitignore

As for node_modules - it is a folder, which is often present in projects folder and often(always I guess?) is included in the gitignore file.