32 y.o, factory job is crippling me mentally. Looking for a bit of guidance. (And encouragement)

Hey everyone. I have been working in a manufacturing plant for 12 years. It was great money at the time, and allowed me to buy my first house at 20 years old. A decade of telling myself I would finish my degree and get an actual career, and failing to do so, has left me in this hole that feels inescapable at the moment.

I have taken several runs at becoming a dev in a professional capacity. But like most things so far, I’ve not followed through. A friend I used to know had a startup that he hired me onto as a subcontractor to help me learn, and make some extra money.

We developed a mobile game for a medical company that was used for keeping children calm when they were having a specific procedure done. It was done in Unity, and it actually turned out pretty nice. But I ended up handling most of the asset creation more than the code.

After that was done, I actually came up with the concept for a feature-rich tournament organization app for Magic: the Gathering events. I wrote a lot of the player stat tracking code, SMS alerts for when rounds start, and our player rating system.

Wizards of the Coast ended up not liking any of this, and sent us a pile of legal threats as they apparently only want organizers to use their own buggy software for this.

Anyways, sorry for the wall of text. I just wanted to lay out a bit where I am.

I’m getting to the point where even thinking about going to my current job gives me a mild panic attack. I would just like any nudge in the correct direction to become employable by a dev team. I am not picky at all at this point.

I am able to learn, I’m competent at finding what I need by googling, and I have a decent amount of experience with html/css, jS, jquery, and python.

I just want to know what the general steps are that I should take, in order to be considered by SOME company within a few months. (If this is even reasonable)