50 applications, 0 interviews

I have started the self taught route by going through most of the freeCodeCamp certs. I shifted to other tutorials after that. Heres a summary:

• Played poker professionally for 8 years, decided it was time for a change
  • Been self-teaching for the last year part-time and full time
  • Learned Javascript and React, built project with create react app for portfolio
  • Got 2 AWS Certifications (Cloud Practitioner and Solutions Architect)
  • Built ‘Cloud Resume’ using AWS. Frontend hosted S3 - CloudFront - Route 53. Backend updates a views counter with DynamoDB - Lambda - API Gateway all setup with SAM templates.

First 30 applications , I had a plain resume. I got 2 coding tests which I did not pass (my data structures and algo are rusty and currently working on those skills)

Next 20 applications, updated resume on Canva + passed my AWS certs + built cloud resume. Removed some old/small projects. It was a great upgrade…yet I still haven’t gotten any traction.

I am still waiting back on some of those applications, but it isn’t looking good.

I want to iterate on my process. I want to add more skills. I want to find better ways to reach recruiters.

Should I add build more projects for my resume?

Should I do more cold outreach?

I need your advice!

3 Likes

Where’s your actual resume? If you’re cold applying like I did, then all these matter:

• Portfolio
  • Resume
  • Cover letter
  • LinkedIn
  • Github

Since before an interview all you are is a piece of paper and an online presence.

Would look at resume first for improvements (can’t find it on your cloud resume site). And I personally would recommend more projects. I had 20+ when I started applying.

Also, it’s a pandemic. One of the people I follow on LinkedIn posts software job stats, and last I saw there are still half the job postings as pre-pandemic.

I cold-applied to 34 jobs for my first offer in 2019.