Ask freeCodeCamp: Why do some programmers hate Object-Oriented Programming (OOP)?

Ask freeCodeCamp: Why do some programmers hate Object-Oriented Programming (OOP)?

Some great programmers have publicly belittled OOP. Alexander Stepanov, the primary designer and implementer of the C++ Standard Template Library, said OOP provides a mathematically-limited viewpoint and called it “almost as much of a hoax as Artificial Intelligence” (it’s safe to say he got it wrong about AI). Edsger W. Dijkstra apparently compared it to snake oil. Many have ranted against it on their blogs. There are many who swear by procedural or functional programming. But why does hate exist toward OOP? Is it because, due to its focus on data abstraction, it’s considered to be against the hacker ethic? Is it just too complicated?

I’m a coding newbie; I started learning OOP a week back and still trying to get my head around it, so please excuse my naivety. As always, I appreciate all answers. Thank you.

I’ve never heard anyone rant against OOP’s - when someone rants - you have to take into account their background - if someone implemented the C++ Standard Template Library they’d have a vested interest in turning people away from OOP…i’m not even sure what mathematically limited viewpoint means.

I believe Mr Stepanov is probably stuck in the past were there wasn’t really ‘computer science’ and to learn computers you had to do ECE and thus a lot of math.

Everyone wants to be a rebel, I guess, and by making big sweeping categorical denouncements, one really gets the attention of everyone else to show what a plucky iconoclast they are. Doesn’t hurt to be an egotist too, because of course the ignorant sheeple all have to be educated about how horrible X is and how great Y is, and who else but to dispense this revealed wisdom?

Doesn’t even have to be about computers.

This is not an easy question to answer, and I wouldn’t pretend to be the one who could answer it. I can try to give a summation: