Why do a lot of people hate JavaScript?

I’m reading the YDKJS book series, and the author says at the beginning of the book that JS has received a lot of criticism. I googled it, and yeah it turns out to be true. Not only criticism, but a lot of people seem to totally hate the language and can’t wait for WebAssembly so that they can avoid it. I’m just a beginner to JS myself, but it honestly doesn’t seem that bad. Yeah it might have its issues, but in the books the author discusses ways you can be efficient in JS and avoid those issues. Moreover, with all the updates it’s getting, I think the language is a pretty successful one and a lot of stuff is being fixed.

I’ve read the language was designed in just 10 days, so that could be a reason, but even though, I still can’t see the reason many people hate it. Hoping to get some thoughts of more experienced people.

3 Likes

There are only two kinds of languages: the ones people complain about and the ones nobody uses. Bjarne Stroustrup

25 Likes

I used to hate the hell out of it years ago, then ES6 came and make it actually enjoyable.

1 Like

@Oxyrus So it’s not considered a “bad” language anymore? I’m actually rather enjoying it. I wrote C, C#, and Java before, and honestly I would have personally picked Java over JavaScript myself if I had the choice, but I don’t think it’s a “bad” language. It’s just different.

@h4m3d Lol. Yeah that makes sense, because I tried to also google “why do people hate java/c#/c++/python… etc” just for the heck of it, and it seems people hate those as well.

1 Like

There are still flaws, but many were addressed in ES6.

If you want to see a beautiful designed language check C# or Golang, you’ll realize what could be better in JS land.

3 Likes