Asking for feedback for my self-taught portfolio

Hello!

I’ve been coding since a few years and I have built a portfolio and started to apply to job offers.
I am a self taught fullstack developer from France.

If you could give me feedback on my portfolio: https://mderam.com/portfolio and/or any project there is on it I would be grateful.

Also there is my Github, (I’ll add some README for projects where it’s missing): https://github.com/mDeram

(I can handle critics, just make sure to present yourself a bit if you want to make a tough one so I can better take your critic in consideration.)

Thanks, have a nice day and happy coding,
Mathurin.

1 Like

Portfolio site itself looks pretty cookie cutter in my opinion - the mobile looks a bit off.

The sudoku game seems neat but it is pretty unclear on how to play, who’s turn it is, and doesn’t seem like it has a single player option.

The blog seems cool but there’s not much content in there to go through to really understand how it works/what you can do.

I think your projects are good but I would try and explain them a bit more in the app itself rather than leaving it to the readme.md

1 Like

Thanks for you feedback Jumbalin, it helps and I agree with you.
I will work on most of your recommendations this week.

:smile:

Hi @mathurin !

Welcome to the forum!

I moved your post over to the #career section since this is a portfolio for the job hunt.

Here are my thoughts :slight_smile:

Resume

Personal statements are tough to write because a lot of times they just come off as to general and don’t add much to the resume.
I also struggle with writing personal statements on resumes for the reasons mentioned above.
In your case, your personal statement here is to generic and doesn’t add a whole lot to your resume:

I am a passionate developer, I have been interested in
computer science since a long time. I love learning and
building.

I would keep working on that.
This is a pretty good article to help you with that.