Automatically export file into modal form attachment

Hi everyone,

I am still fairly new to coding but I am finding my way around it and really enjoying the learning process so far! I have quite a tricky problem that I am trying to overcome, but I am battling to research this idea as I don’t even know what to search for.

Some quick background info: I have created a Leaflet.Draw map that allows the user to download a drawn feature as a .kml file. When the submit button is clicked, the feature is exported and a contact form (as a modal) pops up which allows the user to provide some info and attach their exported feature (take a look at the screenshot).

I thought it would be really cool if the exported feature was automatically uploaded to the form’s attachment input. Is something like this possible?

Here is the export script:

document.getElementById('export').onclick = function(e) {
        // Extract GeoJson from featureGroup
        var data = featureGroup.toGeoJSON();
        var kml = tokml(data);
        // Convert to dataURL format
        var convertedData = 'application/vnd.google-earth.kml+xml;charset=utf-8,' + encodeURIComponent(kml);

// Create export
        document.getElementById('export').setAttribute('href', 'data:' + convertedData);
        document.getElementById('export').setAttribute('download','data.kml');
    } 

And the attachment part of the form

<input type="file" name="file_attach[]" multiple data-required="true"/>

Does anyone possibly have some advice, or know where I could find some more information regarding this idea? Thanks :sunglasses:

Hi @Jonkat323

What you’re trying to do requires the ability to access the file system. I had a quick look and there is an API (although it’s experimental and only supported by chrome) that might be able to do what you want: guide and MDN.

However, you’re probably better off leaving it as is, especially as it looks like that API isn’t going to be supported by other browsers.

Hi @joesmith100