Build a Survey Form

Hi,

I’m extremely new to the world of coding and suffice to say, it’s clicking but also not. I have no experience whatsoever except this FreeCodeCamp modules.

I’ve completed the first few modules and now I’ve got to the actual coding part of building a survey form.

I’m a bit miffed as to why this element isn’t working, as what I’m trying to do is change the body as ‘display block’, but clearly I’m doing something wrong, I just don’t understand what.

I’m also referring to the previous modules but I can’t seem to work it out. This FreeCodeCamp is really great, but maybe there’s some information I’m missing/rules or a text book that might help to refer to. If there is can anyone also help with any suggestions.

what do you mean

the body is a block element by default

So before I amended the fieldset tag, it was displaying like this:

But when I took that first image, I’d already put in the fieldset tag. I was under the assumption to correct this image in this post you’d do the;
label {display:block etc etc

but do you just add a field set instead?

Please post your actual code instead of screenshots. Thanks

How do i do that without it just converting into the doc?

When you enter a code block into a forum post, please precede it with a separate line of three backticks and follow it with a separate line of three backticks to make it easier to read.

You can also use the “preformatted text” tool in the editor (</>) to add backticks around text.

See this post to find the backtick on your keyboard.
Note: Backticks (`) are not single quotes (').

1 Like
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en"></html>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="styles.css">
<meta charset="UTF-8">
<title></title>
<h1 id="title">Survey Form For Free Code Campers</h1>
<p>Your opinions matter to help our ever developing site!</p>
<form id="survey-form">
 <fieldset>
   <label id="name-label">Your Name
    </label>
    <input  placeholder="Your name" id="name" type="text" required></input>