Can I get a developer job without university degree?

Hello campers,
I am egyptian, I got high percentage at high school then I joined faculty of veterinary medicine. I am 28 years old and sometimes postpone my study. I want to change my way because I hate biology. I like math, physics, engineering but it was my family desire. I really need a job and I like programming and I started learning it few days ago. I do not want to continue at my faculty although I am at the last years because I hate biology and I want a job as soon as possible. If I continue studying at university, I will get older and may be I can not get a developer job. so please can I get a developer job with high school certificate not university certificate for necessary if I am looking for that job outside Egypt, my country even if it will be visa sponsorship job, or they will ask me for university degree? what are my chances? please I want your opinions

3 Likes

Some professions like medicine and biology need a degree for safety reasons, it’s difficult to judge how good a doctor is by their portfolio, they can’t effectively prove how good and ethical they are with a portfolio.

Painters, cooks, singers, programmers and even mathematicians often don’t need a degree, because what matters is what they can do. A good institution doesn’t imply in a good programmer, however a good institution often implies in a good doctor, at least for the market.

So don’t worry about it, a lot of us don’t have a degree, as long as you’re good enough and can demonstrate that knowledge, companies won’t care if you study at home or at Harvard. But don’t be fooled by the idea that you can get good quickly, studying alone is difficult and often times things don’t go as you expect them to.

TL;DR: you don’t need a degree

13 Likes

thanks so much for your reply

1 Like

@Selhar1 and please I want to ask the same question in different way. high school certificate is enough for getting developer job outside my country?