Can someone please explain why I have to add position: relative?

<!-- Parallax --!>
<section id="parallax-section" class="parallax">
                        <div class="parallax-bg">
                        </div>
                    </section>
<!-- About Me --!>
                    <section id="aboutme-section" class="aboutme">
                        <div class="row-container-flex">
                            <div class="about-me-column">
                                <div class="about-me-inner">
                                    <div class="about-me-text">
                                    <h2>About Me:</h2>
                                    <p>A self-taught developer from FCC,
                                        CodeCademy, and The Odin Project
                                    </p>
                                    <p class="perks">- with added perks.</p>
                                    </div>
                                    <div>
                                        <a href="#" class="btn abtme-btn">Have a project for me?</a>
                                    </div>
                                </div>
</section>

CSS Code:
/*PARALLAX SECTION */

.parallax-bg{
    min-height: 400px;
    background: url("https://abecaymo.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/Philippine-Flag.jpg") no-repeat center center;
    background-size: cover;
    background-attachment: fixed;
    opacity: .4;
}

/*ABOUT ME SECTION */

.aboutme{
    position: relative; <<<<<<<---- this guy
    width: 80%;
    height: 100%;
    border-radius: 30px;
    margin: -80px auto 0; 
    background-color: #fff;
    padding-top: 20px;
}

I created a parallax background image and added opacity to it.

My problem: I tried to overlap the next section by adding (margin-top : -80px) but it also becomes transparent along with the parallax background.
THEN, I added position: relative and the background got fixed (no opacity, white background).