Change html without getElementById

Hello All,
I am very new to JavaScript and being playing around with it recently.I copied a countdown template but i’m trying re-modify it to fit my case. The script uses document.getElementById() to output but i am think of using <script> function(date_arg)</script> to output in the body tag. Is this possible?

find below the copy of what i have done.

<html>
<head>
<script>
// Set the date we're counting down to

function retdate(cDownDate){
// "Dec 5, 2019 15:37:25"
var countDownDate = new Date(cDownDate).getTime();

// Update the count down every 1 second
var x = setInterval(function() {

// Get todays date and time
  var now = new Date().getTime();

// Find the distance between now an the count down date
  var distance = countDownDate - now;

// Time calculations for days, hours, minutes and seconds
  var days = Math.floor(distance / (1000 * 60 * 60 * 24));
  var hours = Math.floor((distance % (1000 * 60 * 60 * 24)) / (1000 * 60 * 60));
  var minutes = Math.floor((distance % (1000 * 60 * 60)) / (1000 * 60));
  var seconds = Math.floor((distance % (1000 * 60)) / 1000);

// var retval =   days + "d " + hours + "h " + minutes + "" + seconds + "s"
  + minutes + " " + seconds + "s ";

return retval;
  // If the count down is finished, write some text
  if (distance < 0) {
    clearInterval(x);

return "EXPIRED"

}
}, 1000);
}
</script>
</head>
<title>Test Countdown </title>

<body>
 This is the date <script>  function retdate(cDownDate) </script>
</body>
</html>

Hello Haggy,
I think your code didn’t get posted as expected …

1 Like

Hi, I’ve changed your thread title to describe your problem more clearly. Descriptive titles, such as “Why does my function return undefined?”, are more likely to elicit helpful responses than generic titles, such as “Help please”.