Code Review for Python project: Time Calculator

Tell us what’s happening:
Hi, I am new to Python programming. Just completed the challenge of developing a Time Calculator. All the unit tests passed but I would like to refactor my code. Kindly review my code and provide me feedback and suggestions for the same.

Thanks in advance,
Neha Yagnesh

Your code so far
https://repl.it/@nehaYagnesh/boilerplate-time-calculator

Your browser information:

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/87.0.4280.88 Safari/537.36.

Challenge: Time Calculator

Link to the challenge:

1 Like

Some things I’ve noticed and other pointers. Some of these are repeating in other places too. Keep in mind that these should be approached just as what they are - tips, pointers, suggestions what can be looked at and possibly improved. They may give you some other ideas what can be improved further along the way. Remember also to do small changes at a time and check often if everything is working properly after them.

• At the beginning of function value is assigned to new_time , but later that variable isn’t used, rather than that variable name is overwritten with new assignment.

• Regarding line:

time,meridian = starttime.split()

time is name of the build-in module. It’s best to avoid using names that are shadowing names build-in modules or functions. However if such name really would be the best, then underscore can be added at the end of it, like time_, to kind of still keep the name and don’t overwrite build-in module name.

• Regarding lines:
startminutes_hours =  ''.join('{:.2f}').format(int(minutes) / 60)
starttime_hours = float(startminutes_hours) + int(hours)