Confused of App.JS or Index.JS?

Im new to ReactJS, but I’m confused which App.JS or Index.JS to use for typing a programming.

Explain the difference between App.JS or Index.JS?

I used ReactJS - JSX (tutorialspoint.com) website to learn with ReactJS.

I put code in index.js and I got error, See below:

import React from 'react';
import ReactDOM from 'react-dom';
import './index.css';
import App from './App';
import reportWebVitals from './reportWebVitals';

ReactDOM.render(
render() {
var myStyle = {
fontSize: 100,
color: '#FF0000'
}
return (
<div>
<h1 style = {myStyle}>Header</h1>
</div>
);
}

}
document.getElementById('root')
);

I’ve edited your post for readability. When you enter a code block into a forum post, please precede it with a separate line of three backticks and follow it with a separate line of three backticks to make it easier to read.

You can also use the “preformatted text” tool in the editor (</>) to add backticks around text.

See this post to find the backtick on your keyboard.
Note: Backticks (`) are not single quotes (’).

1 Like

Hi @ChrisGW !

Welcome to the forum!

When I create react apps, I don’t really touch the index.js file at all.
That is just a place to render the app.
I will write my code in the app.js or write code in separate components and then nest them inside the app.js

I took your code, and reworked it in this example link.
I didn’t touch the index.js file at all.

In the app component I added your code.
I also created another component and nested that inside the app component.

I would also suggest that you go through freeCodeCamp’s youtube course on react.

I think that will give you a better foundation then the tutorialspoint article.

Hope that helps!

3 Likes

Hi @ChrisGW