Development Server is not auto refreshing while making changes to a component in React

I am beginner learning React. I am having a problem when I delete all the boilerplate files except index.js in order to start from scratch.

I create my first “hello world” component and then start the dev server. The browser opens up and shows my component but when I change “hello world” to “hello people” the component displayed in browser is still “hello world” and I have to refresh the browser to show “hello people”.

There is no any error showing in console. The only thing that is in the console is [HMR] Waiting for update signal from WDS...

I am a beginner and did a lot of searching on how to fix this but I couldn’t solve it. Please suggest something that may fix the problem.

1 Like

Here is a stackoverflow issue about the problem you are facing:

I would however suggest you to create a fresh installation of Create-react-app in a different folder, and see if the problem is solved by doing that.

I spent 2 days browsing through internet to find a solution but yet, I can’t find one. As per the solutions in stackoverflow, They didn’t work for me either.

Does it work with the second link (the one after On Your Network)?

I didn’t understand the question.

Does auto reload works on http://192.168.100.136:3000 ?

No it doesn’t.
The problem starts to occur when I delete the App.js file so there must be something that is connected to App.js file.

Only thing I could think of is that you didn’t restart the dev server after deleting App.js.

Hello there,

Just my best guess: HMR is not watching index.js for any changes. That is, it could be specifically excluded from the watch directory.

Hope that helps

Please tell me how to solve this…?