'dict' object has no attribute 'find_element_by_css_selector'

Hello Everyone,

Good day to all of you.

I am getting the above error while I run this code, as a self taught person I am finding it bit hard to understand what I have done wrong.

Any support would be highly appreciated.

Thank you.

def expand_shadow_element(element):
  shadow_root = browser.execute_script('return arguments[0].shadowRoot', element)
  return shadow_root

browser.get("chrome://settings/clearBrowserData")

root1 = browser.find_element_by_tag_name('settings-ui')
shadow_root1 = expand_shadow_element(root1)

root2 = shadow_root1.find_element_by_css_selector('#main')
shadow_root2 = expand_shadow_element(root2)

root3 = shadow_root2.find_element_by_css_selector('settings-basic-page')
shadow_root3 = expand_shadow_element(root3)

root4 = shadow_root3.find_element_by_css_selector('#basicPage > settings-section:nth-child(9)')
shadow_root4 = expand_shadow_element(root4)

root5 = shadow_root4.find_element_by_css_selector('#basicPage > settings-section:nth-child(9) > settings-privacy-page')
shadow_root5 = expand_shadow_element(root5)

root6 = shadow_root5.find_element_by_css_selector('settings-clear-browsing-data-dialog')
shadow_root6 = expand_shadow_element(root6)

root7 = shadow_root6.find_element_by_css_selector('#clearBrowsingDataDialog')
shadow_root7 = expand_shadow_element(root7)

clearDataButton = shadow_root7.find_element_by_css_selector("#clearBrowsingDataConfirm")
clearDataButton.click()

What is the exact error message? It should indicate a line of code.

I see these two lines. You assign the value returned from expand_shadow_element(root1) to shadow_root1. If the next line:

root2 = shadow_root1.find_element_by_css_selector('#main')

is where the error occurs, then I would assume shadow_root1 does not have what you think it should have in it.