Discouraged....coding probably not for me

Hi (I’m ranting) , I’m new here … I been learning to code for like 7 or 8 month and to be quit honest I have no former experience or anything , My background education is basically from 3rd word country and i was unemployed since I don’t know 2016 , I did some jumping from restaurant , cafes … your typical “trying to survival and figure it out” , I decide last year to quit my job go back to my parent house and spent the rest of my time just coding … HTML / CSS / java script … now the problem honestly is I feel so dumb and i feel that i just waste my time i try to spend like 4h minimum , sometimes I go 8 hours hell I skip meals and food because of frustration and discouragement literally swearing I would kill myself if I don’t fix this problem , been always hard on myself…i went over 5 courses FCC is one them and to this day I just can’t seems to code … I’m trying to build my first project …I can do basic stuff (very basic stuff) but when it comes to complex problem i just copy past code and edit to my needs in the web , I try to understand (most of the time I just “get it” superficial understanding …) but most of the time i just copy past and edit … I’m aiming toward front-end I know it will take time but i just feel like i well never learn it’s like when i try to understand there’s this huge brick wall inside my brain …I been genuinely thinking to quit all together …

3 Likes

hi, truth be said i’m also a beginner and i have been doing this since March last year. it is not easy (“if it were everyone could be doing it”). Don’t give up and when you create your first project , no matter how simple it is be proud of what you have done

7 Likes

You are not alone. Coding is hard. Everyone has banged their head against the wall trying to get their code to work.