Do you recommend reading a book or an online course to learn javascript?

Hi

Do you recommend the “You don’t know Javascript” the 6 books or “The Complete JavaScript Course 2019: Build Real Projects!” by Jonas Schmedtmann? I am new to javascript (not new to programming languages) but I want to learn deeply javascript. I was taking a full web developer course (Andrei one) in udemy but it covers javascript so fast so I dropped the course.

What do you recommend? Do you have any other javascript book that you recommend? I heard that Javascript & JQuery by Jon Duckett was a good book but JQuery is a bit outdated and frameworks are taking over. I want to learn a framework like react too in the future.
Thanks

Hi,

I actually took the online course by Jonas Schmedtmann. I really enjoyed it. I have a previous background in coding. If you don’t, you might find it fast and a bit hard. If you are a beginner, start with a book. Online courses are mostly fast.

1 Like

I haven’t tried the course. The books You Don’t Know JS are good to read but not if you are just learning, in my opinion. Learn some JS first then read the books. There are plenty of free JS tutorials online (tutorialspoint, w3schools). And MDN has a good JavaScript reference that you will definitely want to go to once you get into JS.

1 Like

The course here is a great quick overview of js, but not truly a “deep dive”. I do recommend reading, it’s one of my favorite pastimes. I have a bookshelf of coding references, and a google drive approaching full with ebooks.

The YDKJS books are great, as is Eloquent Javascript. Javascript Novice to Ninja wasn’t bad. There are some far deeper ones, one that I’ve re-read so much that I had to buy a new copy (my old one fell apart) is Dustin Diaz and Ross Harmes’ Pro Javascript Design Patterns.