Drum Machine Version 1 complete

Hi Campers,

I finally finished my Drum Machine (version 1). This version passes all FCC tests, but I feel like there are improvements to be made, and I’d like to get some feedback from you.

As I am relatively new to React, I would also welcome any feedback on the way I wrote the code.

https://codepen.io/kiwisquash/pen/OeOzKW

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

I tried to play your drum machine in a musically timed rhythm and it seems to take too long to reload the sample before playing the sample again. Your code looks good and this is more how to use the audio tag.

I looked into the documentation for the audio tag and found this part relevant.

preload

This enumerated attribute is intended to provide a hint to the browser about what the author thinks will lead to the best user experience. It may have one of the following values:

• none : Indicates that the audio should not be preloaded.
  • metadata : Indicates that only audio metadata (e.g. length) is fetched.
  • auto : Indicates that the whole audio file can be downloaded, even if the user is not expected to use it.
  • empty string : A synonym of the auto value.

The default value is different for each browser. The spec advises it to be set to metadata .

Usage notes:

• The autoplay attribute has precedence over preload . If autoplay is specified, the browser would obviously need to start downloading the audio for playback.
  • The browser is not forced by the specification to follow the value of this attribute; it is a mere hint.

This enumerated attribute is intended to provide a hint to the browser about what the author thinks will lead to the best user experience. It may have one of the following values:

• none : Indicates that the audio should not be preloaded.
  • metadata : Indicates that only audio metadata (e.g. length) is fetched.
  • auto : Indicates that the whole audio file can be downloaded, even if the user is not expected to use it.