ES6: Use getters and setters to Control Access to an Object question

Tell us what’s happening:
Describe your issue in detail here.

Hello, I am new to JS (so maybe my question makes no sense).
Bellow is the correct answer for the challenge. However, my question is why when I typed at the end of the code: console.log(thermos.temperature) it gives 26 and does not use the equation in the setter? what’s the point of the equation in the setter if its not being used?

**Your code so far**

// Only change code below this line
class Thermostat {
constructor(fahrenheit) {
  this.fahrenheit = fahrenheit;
}

get temperature() {
  return (5 / 9) * (this.fahrenheit - 32);
}

set temperature(celsius) {
  this.fahrenheit = (celsius * 9.0) / 5 + 32;
}
}
// Only change code above this line

const thermos = new Thermostat(76); // Setting in Fahrenheit scale
let temp = thermos.temperature; // 24.44 in Celsius
console.log(thermos.temperature);
thermos.temperature = 26;
temp = thermos.temperature; // 26 in Celsius
console.log(thermos.temperature)
  **Your browser information:**

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/95.0.4638.69 Safari/537.36 OPR/81.0.4196.61

Challenge: Use getters and setters to Control Access to an Object

Link to the challenge:

It is using the equation. It gets this.fahrenheit, subtracts 32, then multiplies by 5/9, and returns the result of that.

Note that when you use:

thermos.temperature = 26;

It calls the setter. It assumes that “26” is in C and converts it to F for storage. Then your getter converts it back.

It’s kind of an odd setup, but the point is to introduce you to getters and setters.

Does that makes sense?

1 Like

Oh, ok, I didn’t know that it will go back to the getter.
Yes, now it makes sense.
Thank you for your fast reply and explanation.