Feature Requests

freeCodeCamp, which I just discovered a few days ago in the Scout Report, is awesome. I can’t believe people have done so much work to provide a well thought out linear path to competence. Thank you!

My Feature Request: A way to change the background color of the code window from black to white, and the default code color from white to black. I am color impaired and have trouble seeing red characters on a black background.

I know that as a workaround I can use an external editor and past the results in the code window, but that might be a little daunting for some absolute novices.

Is there any way to change the background color of the code window from black to white, and the default code color from white to black? I am color impaired and have trouble seeing red characters on a black background.

Yes. It depends on the code editor you use but I guess that if u go into view tab and settings or theme you can change the theme. If u don’t find the view tab you can search for setting and then change the theme.

I’m using the coding window in the Chrome browser that is provided with the freeCodeCamp challenges, but I don’t see anyplace in settings for background and foreground colors.

I don’t think there is a light themed code editor on FreeCodeCamp at the moment :frowning: One possible solution would be to use an editor on your PC and copy the code to FCC to check if it works correctly.

Perhaps they could add the color change functionality and store the data in the user localstorage.

Thanks. If it’s not there, I can stop wasting time looking for it. I used to use Vim anyway, and might just go back to it if I have enough trouble reading the code editor provided by freeCodeCamp in the browser window.

I don’t know how helpful this would be because I don’t know what colors cause problems, but editor colors do change a bit if you use the “night mode” feature in FCC. It’s still a black editor, but it looks like there is a higher contrast at least.