Finding a job to drop out of college and move out of state

I’m a student in a B.A. CS program at New Mexico State University. I currently work at a student job on campus where I make Intranet sites with C# and ASP.NET. I want to find an actual developer job, leave this place, and quit school.
College has always felt like I didn’t belong there. I love programming, I love when I program at work, and in general, I think I’m a pretty okay developer. The school is behind the times, and the only reason I have to complete it is to get that stupid piece of paper so I have a fallback and a foot in the door for some requirements. Everything is so theory based, but I am not interested in applying them in the only fields they seem to train us for, which is systems and microcontrollers. I want to make web applications, games, literally anything that is higher level and interesting.
Every semester of college, I’ve suffered from depression.
The only thing that has helped is my job, but during the semester, I can only work 20 hours a week, so I can’t accomplish much, and I barely make it by.
I’m 3-4 semesters out, but each one is harder and harder to deal with because of money being tighter, depression being worse, and just generally being a drain. It’s making me lose passion, and it’s causing me to be less there for my SO, who I want to be happy more than I want this stupid degree.
I want a fresh start. I want to find a job in Seattle, Austin, or hell, even El Paso so I can finally do something useful and provide more for my SO. I can’t lose her, and I can’t lose myself to this stupid degree anymore.
I have a year of experience at my job now, I know C# like the back of my hand, and I know I am a competent developer, but I just don’t know where to start to get out of here.
Any help, comments, concerns, or anything, I’m grateful to hear.

3 Likes