freeCodeCamp Curriculum counts as a "technical certificate"

Im starting the process of imigration to Canada that i hope to be finished in 700 days.
One way to imigrate is to get a company to hire you; with is my point here.
I have time to complete most of fCC curriculum but first i would like to know if it counts as some type of “technical certificate” that companies actually look for.

Also, if not, what WEB course counts as a real certificate ?

Sorry if its a dumb question… im really uninformed about it.

2 Likes

web development has no officially recognised certificate at all

a degree can look good on a CV, but most of all you need to show what you have learned showing a few project

if you post your CV, portfolio, github account and whatever else you are using to market yourself to companies, you can get a lof of advices to improve your chances

2 Likes

keep in mind that im really new to all this.
i will just state my hopes and u can tell me if its kinda possible or just dreams.

What i pretend on doing is to finish most courses on fCC and then focus only in mysql for about 90 days.

I think i can do all this in 150 days if i put my mind into it.

If i do this, do u think im prepared to start doing something in back-end ? if so, how to start ? i have no clue where i can find a project to start or if i need to make a personal one … and that’s what make my so uneasy, if i spend all this time studying and after that there is nothing i can do to build a github worth showing off (lets say junior level) or some type of portifolio i will be really hopeless.

Do u think this path is good or im just dreaming ?

2 Likes

you can put the projects you do on fcc on yor github to show your growth, also the fcc curriculum includes backend

for inspiration on the road, the freecodecamp podcast has a lot of success stories of people that managed to get a job, also in #career subforum and freecodecamp.org/news