Fresh Graduate Struggles

I graduated with my Bachelors in CS at the beginning of December and been actively looking since late December. I did an internship at a company working with Juniper/Brocade switches, which in hindsight, might of been a mistake. I’ve received a bit of a shock both by the lack of entry-level positions in Atlanta as well as the overall process and I’m trying to find out what the reality is for someone like me.

So far, I’ve gotten two phone interviews through recruiters, neither of which went anywhere. The first one felt like it went decently, and we just chatted for 45 minutes about the projects on my resume, what they do, and some additional chit-chat about dependency injection and Swing. I asked a lot of questions because I was genuinely interested as well as wanting to appear eager.

The second one was a guy ahead of a small startup. He asked me about an object model for a car, motorcycle, and garage. I responded that I would have a vehicle class with functions such as brake, accelerate, on, off, etc that car and motorcycle would extend (so future vehicles could be added if needed, abstraction, etc). For the garage, I’d have a separate class with a data structure that would store the cars and motorcycles, and I would use a point system assigned to cars/motorcycles to determine whether or not the garage was occupied.

He condescendingly asked me if grew up with a garage.

I’m comfortable with Java and C++.
I’m teaching myself JS through “Eloquent Javascript”.
I consider myself a very sociable person with great soft skills.
I’ve written use case diagrams, E-R diagrams, and plenty more in the software engineering sphere
One of the values I market myself on is that I can pick up any language quickly (degree wouldn’t mean much if I couldn’t)

So, what’s the general reality here…

What type of time-frame am I looking at? I know it varies wildly but I feel like I know nothing.
Am I a bumbling idiot that doesn’t know what a garage is?