Functions question

Hi - a few questions about functions.

1. why is this problem using myMap not map? I don’t understand it’s significance.

2. which solution type should I be focused on? Initially when I was looking at arrows and some other es6 topics, I was trying to learn algorithms and so I didn’t really focus a lot on each concept (also there wasn’t enough practice with them). Now I’m seeing that varies problems focus on es6. For example one solution to this is this.forEach(a => newArray.push(callback(a)));. I thought to myself ideally I’d learn all, but of course that’s not easy when I’m starting out so I thought it’d be worth asking.

3. I may have asked this before but is there a better alternative than mozilla docs? As a beginner I feel like I’m reading a textbook as there are so many ways each thing could be used. I just want to learn the part about my specific issue so I can learn based on this course. For example, a place with a topic navigation would be nice vs reading the entire page and trying to determine which definition is appropriate.

Your code so far

// The global variable
var s = [23, 65, 98, 5];

Array.prototype.myMap = function(callback) {
var newArray = [];
// Only change code below this line
for (let i=0; i < this.length; i++) {
  newArray.push(callback(this[i]))
}
// Only change code above this line
return newArray;
};

var new_s = s.myMap(function(item) {
return item * 2;
});
  **Your browser information:**

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_15_5) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/88.0.4324.150 Safari/537.36.

Challenge: Implement map on a Prototype

Link to the challenge:

This question is asking you to implement map. But map is already defined, so they are asking you to write myMap which will do the same thing as map.

I’m not sure what you mean. I would get something simple that works and then focus on fancy syntax. The challenge text suggests using .forEach. Do you know how a .forEach works?