Gateway laptop good for starter or nah?

Hi there, i am a beginner who wants to start learning. My old laptop doesnt have the right specs though. So i am looking for a new one on a budget. I found this one but i am unsure since i cant find anything that mentions coding about it. Here are the specs

• Windows 10 Home
  • 11th Gen Intel® Core™ i5-1135G7 Processor (2.40 GHz, Up to 4.20 GHz, 8M Cache)
  • Intel® Iris® Xe Graphics
  • 14.1” LCD IPS FHD Display, (1920 x 1080), Edge-to-Edge
  • Precision Touchpad
  • Tuned by THX™ Audio
  • 512 GB Solid State Drive
  • 16 GB Memory (RAM)

This cost $449

Any advice would be appreciated. This laptop
search is overwhelming.
Thank you

Hey @Jenmo welcome! I saw that this is your first post in the community, so I want to first wish you a hardy welcome.

For the laptop, that’s a great question. 16GB of RAM is fantastic. 512 GB SSD is good. Honestly if you are starting out, you won’t be running many things that will really tax your system. fCC does a lot of stuff in the browser too, so having a PC that can run Chrome will be great as you get started.

Windows is alright when starting out and are doing stuff on fCC and Codepen in the browser, however later you might find yourself wanting to run Linux overtop of it (especially if you use The Odin Project at some point). You’ll have to teach yourself commands on the Windows command prompt that will be different than Mac and Linux too, so keep that in mind.

If you have a budget of $500, another option is seeing if you can find a used or refurbished Macbook Air.

You probably won’t see many laptops specify themselves as coding laptops, especially at the entry-level. The Dell XPS 13 Linux is the only one I’ve seen specifically marketed as a Developers laptop.

But overall the laptop seems fine for starting out. What’s the brand?

Thank you for your answer!