Got an Error 800A03EA in javascript

Hi Everyone,

I am a beginner in Java script programming. Although I have done a lot of program in HTML. I wrote my first JavaScript program in note pad and saved as first.js in note pad and opened the program in internet explorer.
I got an error as compilation error in line 1, char 1, syntax error, code -800A03EA and I have searched in google but unable to resolve this issue. Can anyone help me to go through this. My program is

<html>
<head>Somu</head>
<body>
<script type="text/javascript">
  alert('hello world!');
</script>
</body>
</html>

1 Like

I’ve edited your post for readability. When you enter a code block into the forum, remember to precede it with a line of three backticks and follow it with a line of three backticks to make easier to read. See this post to find the backtick on your keyboard. The “preformatted text” tool in the editor (</>) will also add backticks around text.

markdown_Forums

The code you posted is your first.js file?

yes and I want to know why this error ? is there any problem with my coding or anything else. Can you help me ?

This is HTML code and you put it in a JS file. There’s your problem :slight_smile: The part inside <script> is the code that goes in the .js file

rename the file to first.html - html files should not have the .js extension - make sure you have the complete filename visible in Windows Explorer - this is done by unchecking the “Hide extensions for known file types” option in Folder Options:View

IE gives the error because it tries the run the entire file as a jscript file - which it is not

hopefully you got the page to load after renaming the file - here’s a few tips on your html so far

always start your html file with the doctype declaration - it should be the very first thing on the very first line of the file

<!doctype html>
<html>
</html>