Graduate as Full Stack Web Dev, applied to more 140 jobs, but now I applied to my old regular job

On 2017 I had the opportunity to go 100% into learning programming. I had to quit my job to be a stay home dad and I took the opportunity to pursue what I always was interested in; programming. I had learned on my own watching youtube videos the basic HTML, CSS, and Bootstrap, but now I was looking into a career change. 37 years old looking for a career change, looking to do exciting and creative things, and interacting with others who share the excitement of doing this kind of work for a living. Well, I graduated in June of 2018 as Full Stack Web Developer with Python as a back-end programming language. Since then, I have applied to more than 140 plus jobs and with only two interviews. Unfortunately, as time passed it made a hole in our finance. Every application was applied with the hope of being the one the would get up us over the hump.

All this to say, I have applied and possibly start working on what I used to do before quitting; Pest Control. P.S. I am still learning by taking these courses like ES6, React, and Node. Some projects as well… slowly but surely.

Has anyone gone through this situation and had to go back to the old job?

8 Likes

Hi, my thinking is if you are able to make a real full stack app with django + react and node + react then lie by saying you were freelancer for 1 or 2 years and you should find a job easy. (It’s important to lie, to install trust.)
By real app, I mean to use redux + selector for react, and following the best practices containers/stateless components.

Next step would be to learn graphql as it is the modern way to play with API. (It will probably replace REST in the future).

The other solution would be to create projects ready made in 1h without using any best practice and complexity. But then you should be extremly lucky, like those people who can find a job by learning only for 3-4 months :slight_smile:

2 Likes