Help With Excel

Hi There Everyone, I am semi-new to programming (challenging myself to do a hundred days of code!). I am very new to trying to make Excel work nicer for me. I am currently working on a side project to build a proposal sheet for a friend of mine who owns a plumbing business. The problem i am trying to solve is assigning a Word to an IF statement and returning with a numerical value. I figured out how to do this last night but then ran into the next issue, the size of my formula can only be 255 characters, and i have over 350 different word input, value output senerios. Making it where no matter what option is entered into the spreadsheet, the associated value would be given.

I am using the following

=IF(B3=“0.5 Copper Joint”,0.20,IF(B3="0.5 Copper Valve”,0.40,IF(B3=”0.5 Copper Tee”,0.60,IF(B3=”0.5 Copper ELL”,0.40,IF(B3=”0.5 Copper LF Pipe”,0.04,IF(B3=”0.75 Copper Joint”,0.21,IF(B3=”0.75 Copper Valve”,0.42,IF(B3=”0.75 Copper Tee”,0.63,IF(B3=”0.75 Copper ELL”,0.42,IF(B3=”0.75 Copper LF Pipe”,0.04))))))))))

If i shorten this code up it works like a charm, and it would work if excel allowed longer formulas. I was thinking that there has to be a better way than to write out 350 different IF,THEN statements. Is there? How do i get Excel to allow me to use a 2500 word formula rather than 250? Am i overthinking this? Is this even possible to do this in Excel? If not, what language should I focus on to create this spreadsheet? I want to learn how to create this if someone could simply provide direction to complete my ultimate goal, I am perfectly okay with scrapping the excel format to switch to a more suitable format that will allow me to create the overall spreadsheet to perfection. I am here to learn.

I appreciate your time and help,

Thank You.