Hired as a front end dev

Last month I was hired and started a position as a front end developer. This came after a year of self study and training-no boot camp or other formal training. I have been meaning to write this post for a while, but thanks to being employed full time at a new job I haven’t gotten around to it before now.

I don’t want to write a long post, as I think there is plenty of great advice on the forum, but would rather just share what I think are the most important lessons I learned.

Give it time

I originally thought I would get a job after 3 months, then after 6, but it took me a little more than a year. Don’t expect instant results, this process is going to take time. I eventually ended up working a couple of hourly jobs at 55 hours/week to make ends meet while I studied.

Stick with things

It’s really easy to want to jump from language to language, or course to course, or from one meetup group to another. Really make it a goal to finish what you start, and choose the courses/sites/group that you really like and stick with them.

Make projects or find some and contribute

By all means, you need to write your own code! Pick a project and jump in and make it! Don’t worry if it’s been done a million times or you think it’s not that fancy. Just build stuff. Alternately, find ongoing projects and contribute to them. I worked with a friend on his personal project and ended up with the front end of a web app that I had written completely in React. I also attended a meetup every week and contributed to an open source project. These were the two biggest examples I used when interviewing.

Network!